Lenten Poem: 1st Corinthians 13

Jennings Creek 2

1st Corinthians 13

How is it that Paul
who had no wife to embrace him
on cold desert nights,

who had no children to call his own
and fill his heart with songs and laughter,
and no mistress to inflame his passion……

How is it that this wanderer
with a heart more legal than warm,
who never knew the gentle sureness
of family and home….

How is it that he could write
this love letter of eternal perfection?

Do not tell me that God cannot transform us
and make us more than we are.
Paul’s love poem is reason enough
to believe.

===========================

About the Poem

Today’s Lenten topic (see below) was Love. I actually wrote this poem almost five years ago, but try as I could, I could not find a poem that said what I wanted to say better, so forgive me please, for repeating myself.

The picture was taken at Jennings Creek, Virginia, on a day where my daughter and I were wandering the countryside in the convertible, cameras in hand. You can click on it for a larger version.

About these Lenten Poems

My friend Cathy Benson is on to something. Instead of doing without for Lent, she is doing MORE with a prayer project that is thoughtful and caring.

Giving up something for Lent is a church tradition, not a biblical command. It was designed to get our minds and hearts right as we approach the holy week and Easter. It’s a good spiritual discipline.

But I think a spiritual discipline of doing something more is also a powerful way to prepare our hearts for Easter. The Methodists, through their “Rethink Church” initiative have come up with a photographic way to do this (see below). I am going to add a poem with each image for the lent season to help prepare myself. Feel free to glom on to the idea, visit the blog and read, or share your thoughts and prayers.

Lent

One comment

Leave a comment